The Ninety Day Novel ® The Classic Join Tutor Retreats Reviews Book A Chat Blog Advent Calendar See all courses. Login

There Are No Rules

Oct 14, 2018
 

 There are no rules, only tools.

'There are three rules for writing a novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are.'

Somerset Maugham.

You will find tools at The Novelry. Use them, try them, pick them up, put them down. Do not consider them rules. I can't abide rules, and I guess you can't or you probably wouldn't be writing.

There is no formula. Did you know that some writers' books can stay unborn, in their amniotic sac of rules and regulations, attached to the umbilical spreadsheet for years? It's an awful condition and one we can't abide at The Novelry where we get novels done.

'I don’t think there are any universal rules. I really don’t. We each make our own rules, and we stick to our rules and we abide by them, but you know rules are made to be broken. … [If] any rule you hear from one writer doesn’t work for you, disregard it completely. Break it. Do what you want to do. I have my own rules that I follow, but they’re not necessarily going to work for other writers. … The only universal rule is to write. Get it done, and do what works for you. There’s nothing sadder than someone sitting there and trying to apply a lot of rules that are not turning that person on and are not stimulating and are not making a novel.' Ann Rice.

'Write it ­honestly, and tell it as best you can. I’m not sure that there are any other rules. Not ones that matter.' Neil Gaiman.

'If it sounds like writing, I rewrite it.' Elmore Leonard.

We don't preach from the textbook at The Novelry, and there's no mystery to the method. All we're doing here is establishing a habit of writing daily, a habit of reading at bedtime. and throwing inspiration at you in an orderly fashion, showing you some of the methods great writers have used and saying - knock yourself out! Take what works for you.

But you are the author. You gotta write it. To come back and back to the white page there's got to be something in it that you personally find moving or funny as hell. It's contrary characters in tight spots that makes me love what I do.

No rules. 

If you're using 'rules' please stop immediately and replace all that time checking charts with reading.

Personally, I like to start with one shit idea. Then I start to snowball it, adding often unrelated elements to it. Next, my characters start doing things they shouldn't do. And I read and read and read all the time I'm creating and editing.

If you're serious about getting your novel done, and you're a writer who won't play by the rules, The Novelry offers ideas and options for you to choose from - tools for your toolbox used by the great craftsmen  - until you're double-done. And we always will. 

Editing Your Novel

Today sees the launch of a new course at The Novelry. Constructing this more rigorous course to put a novelist's manuscript through its paces has been wildly refreshing. It's reminded me of how I felt about writing when I started out in my twenties. This is my favourite course because it's so clean! Lucidity is the watchword.

I like writing, but I love editing. It's a great feeling to curate your material and this course is full of sound sense and will take you through the edit in 30 lessons so you can crack your next draft in a month with the joy borne of assurance. You'll know it's right. The course will take you all the way to submission. Find out more here.

Members News

All members will be receiving a gift from The Novelry today. Check your library! I hope you like the makeover to our rooms too.

Congratulations to Tracey Emerson! This week sees the publication of our member Tracey Emersons book. 'She Chose Me.'

'A psychological thriller whose high energy and fast-pace will have you racing towards the climactic conclusion. Perfect for fans of The Girl Before.'

Tracey is writing her second novel with The Novelry.

'Writing my second novel with The Novelry has been a liberating and revelatory experience, which I'd recommend to writers at any stage of their career.'

Tracey Emerson

You can see our writers' published novels here.

Competition Winner.

We had hundreds of entries to our competition, thank you all so much for taking part.

The winner is: Jenni Riddalls.

Congratulations Jenni! You've won The Ninety Day Novel ® course which includes three one-to-one coaching sessions with me and over 100 lessons drip-fed over 90 days to coincide with your writing of your novel.  

Everyone who entered has had the free trial warm-up to The Ninety Day Novel ® course. So there should be hundreds of you ready to roll in this one of the very best months for starting a novel (with the kids back at school and Christmas still a lurid nightmare in the distance!) All of those who entered will receive an email today at 10 am with some consolation prizes well worth having! Email me if you don't get yours. When you get that email you'll need to move fast!

Keep an eye on your inbox to claim your prize.

Happy writing, everybody. 

Join us and get that novel done.

Find out more.
Close

Get on the list

Get your Sunday paper delivered to your door! The weekly blog will be emailed to you on a Sunday. Join our mailing list for special offers, discounts, news and invitations to our events.