How To Become a Published Author.

Aug 08, 2018

I'm delighted to announce the publication of our member's novel - The Light Between Us by Katie Khan -  which scored a five star review in Heat and is romping up the fiction charts.

'A bold new talent' says Matt Haig.

Published by Penguin's imprint Transworld this month, Katie began writing her novel with The Novelry in August last year.

As Katie said in her speech at the book's launch party at the Owl Bookshop last night - she was nervous about the 'difficult second album' but found it all came together. She thanked her family and friends and agent for support and has very sweetly thanked The Novelry in her acknowledgements.

A writer needs a solid daily process, inspiration, encouragement and support.

Katie has a big day job, and writes bold and inspiring novels. You too can write like Katie - make sure you get the support you need!

The steps to becoming a published author are simple, but precise. 

  1. If you love reading and would love to raise your writing game to publishing standard, you might like to explore what’s on offer here at The Novelry. Plenty of free advice at the blog.

  2. The Classic Course teaches writers how to build a world in fiction. Learn the techniques and methods of authors like JRR Tolkien, CS Lewis, JK Rowling and more. Delve into your own unique life experience and find the story inside you. You’ll leave the course with a plan for your novel and plenty of material. 

  3. If you have an idea and need to write it, write it fast. So write it in a season, as Stephen King advises, with the Ninety Day Novel ® course. It’s an online course, available worldwide, you can sign up at any time and you’ll be guided step by step, daily, and supported all the way to ‘The End’. With one-to-one troubleshooting sessions and plenty of encouragement from fellow writers, no one gets left behind. 

  4. Put that pen down! Leave that novel in a drawer for at least a month and read other great books again, then return to the novel and produce a second draft using The Big Edit course.

  5. Submit those first three chapters one by one to the novelists’ community for warm, wise feedback. Then when you’ve taken on board all the constructive praise, you send it to Louise Deanfounder of The Novelry who will either give you further direction or submit for you to our leading literary agency partners. 


 
 
Thea and Isaac first met at University. Theirs was an instant connection but it never went further than friendship. Because, then and now, Thea only has eyes for her work. Not just her course, but also a private project - Thea is determined to prove that time travel is not just the stuff of science fiction. And she has never told anyone the reason why. When one of their friends goes missing in an experiment, Isaac and Thea must work together to find her - forcing them to re-examine their own friendship. Is it really as platonic as they used to think? The Light Between Us is a story of unrequited love and second chances. It begs the dangerous question that we all ask ourselves - what could have been?
 
"Sure to have you weeping" (Grazia)

"Gripping, fascinating, funny, romantic, exciting, and hopeful with a great cast of women, The Light Between Us is a cracking good read." (Rowan Coleman, author of The Summer of Impossible Things)

"A bold new talent" (Matt Haig)

"Full of friendship, romance and hope, The Light Between Us asks what truly defines who we are... and who we love." (Maggie Harcourt author of The Last Summer of Us)

"An intriguing and wonderfully told story full of brilliant women, friendship, love, art and time travel. Perfect for fans of The Time Traveller’s Wife and Sliding Doors." (Lydia Ruffles, author of The Taste of Blue Light)

Like this blog?

Vote here!

Write Your Book.

Learn more

Disclosure: Content may contain affiliate links to WriterShop and other companies. If you buy something through one of those links you won’t pay more, but we may get a commission. The Novelry is independently owned and opinions expressed are our own. 

Close

 

Get the Sunday Blog...

...  to your Inbox every week. 

Happy Writing.

The Novelry.